Frozen Four History

Let’s take a look inside the history of the NCAA Men’s Ice Hockey Frozen Four Championship. For those of you who don’t know what the Frozen Four is, it signifies the championships in men’s ice hockey to determine the top team in the NCAA Division I and NCAA Division III leagues. The semi-finals and finals were given the name of the Frozen Four because they were derived from the final round of the NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Championships, otherwise known as the Final Four. In 1999, the final two rounds of the hockey tournament were first referred to as the Frozen Four.

Recently, the NCAA announced 523 sites as hosts for 82 of its 89 championships for the 2014-2018 seasons, the largest collection of host site announcements in its history at one time. But the Frozen Four Championship for men’s ice hockey is an especially appealing draw, because as Mark Lewis said, “the competitiveness of the bids made it extremely difficult for the sport committees to select sites as there just weren’t spots for all of the great bids we received.”

Boston, Tampa, Chicago, and St. Paul will host the Championships in 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018 respectively. For Chicago, it was most memorable, as they beat out other finalists including Buffalo, New York, Columbus, Ohio, Philadelphia (which already received the spot for the 2014 Division I Tournament), Pittsburgh and Washington D.C.

Notre Dame’s Director of Athletics Jack Swarbrick stated: “the Frozen Four is one of the premier events in college sports and will bring hockey fans from all over the nation [together].” And it’s true; the Frozen Four does wonders for a city hosting the games. It adds value and tradition to a premier city allowing all visitors to explore its hidden treasures, while seeing who is crowned the title of NCAA Men’s Ice Hockey Frozen Four Champions.